The return of cocktail hour

Sunday Gin Special

I’m not sure there is anything much better than coming home after a long day at work, sitting back, enjoying the last rays of sunshine and partaking in a refreshing beverage. Ah, cocktail hour! I don’t know when it started or when it really stopped (probably when people started working longer hours and bars introduced happy hour!) but I think it needs to make a comeback and summer is the perfect time to make it happen.

Sunday Gin Special

Whilst it is completely ridiculous that I’m doing this post on the eve of my starting a detox, that’s just the way I roll. Plus these are my final hours of holiday freedom and I intend to enjoy them. Not that I’ll be doing a serious detox like my lovely blogosphere friend Mel (props to her for being a purist!), just a few weeks of clean(er) living to help counter balance the last month of utter debauchery which I happily and far too regularly participated in. Between birthdays, Christmas parties, Christmas, New Years and the random mid-week nights out I need a new liver. And brain. In fact I could do with a complete new body. Seriously.

Sunday Gin Special Snacks!

Back to the topic of the moment though – cocktail hour. The drink options are endless and can be as simple or as complicated as you like. Now my drink of choice is gin so not necessarily everyone’s favourite but it’s certainly mine. Tanqueray, Bombay Sapphire and Hendricks are all lovely choices but if gin isn’t your thing then a good vodka or white rum will do just fine for this recipe. Don’t forget the snacks either, they are a critical addition, especially when they involve figs with castello blue cheese wrapped in prosciutto. Definitely drool worthy. Oh and on the off-chance none of this is to your liking (what the hell is wrong with you?!), there’s always scotch on the rocks! Cheers!

Sunday Gin Special
The Sunday Gin Special (makes about 2 litres)
  • 2 limes, quartered
  • Pulp of 3 passionfruits
  • 1/2 punnet strawberries, quartered
  • 1/2 cup mint, chopped
  • 2 cups ice cubes
  • 2 cups lemonade
  • 1 cup sparkling mineral water
  • 1 1/2 cups gin (or to taste)

In a large jug, squeeze in the lime juice (and throw in the limes for good measure), the passionfruit pulp, strawberries and mint and combine. Add the ice cubes and all the liquids and combine well. Garnish with some extra limes and strawberries before serving.

