The mystery of the missing month of November

Olives...

Er, say what? First week of Summer? No, no, I know it’s hot but it can’t possibly be December yet, we’ve got ages to go. Plenty of time to prepare for the onslaught of the festive season… Expect there isn’t and it is completely freaking me out.

I don’t know why I’m surprised, this happens to me every year. Last weekend of October and I’m all “oh yeah, this year is going to be a breeze, presents bought, Christmas menus sorted, food ordered, stylish birthday celebrations organised and all before December starts!”. Fast forward a month and I have done none of the above. Similar to the poor old goldfish, I just never seem to learn.

Too many tasty ingredients...

Seriously though, where on earth did November disappear to? I had almost convinced myself everything would be fine until I was confronted with an enormous (and I mean GIANT) billboard announcing 15 working days until Christmas. Now, technically there was actually 16 days left including Christmas Eve but that was 48 hours ago and the clock is continuing to tick. Holy hell, please Santa, please bring me some more time!

Breakfast Bruschetta

As the chances of me buying myself more time are slim to none, I’m on to Plan B and no, it does not involve fixing myself a stiff drink (although I am feeling rather thirsty now that I think about it…). Rather it involves me fixing myself a snack, something to lift the blood sugar levels and alleviate the panic. Yep, I’m thinking my rendition of the breakfast bruschetta from 2204 in Marrickville, Sydney. As soon as I spotted it on the menu, I knew it would be love at first bite. As I’m already having a love affair with each and every one of these ingredients, it seems a no brainer to put them together, can’t believe I didn’t think of it myself!

Breakfast Bruschetta Ingredients...

Breakfast Bruschetta (serves 2)

  • 4 slices dark rye bread or some other crusty bread
  • About 2 tbsp of basil pesto
  • 1 large avocado, cubed
  • 1 punnet grape or cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/4 spanish onion, thinly sliced
  • 10-15 pitted kalamata olives, quartered
  • 1-2 tsp good quality olive oil
  • About 50gm fetta*
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Toast the bread and top each slice with a 1/4 to 1/2 tbsp basil pesto (depending on how intense you want things).
  2. In a bowl, combine the avocado, tomatoes, onion, olives, olive oil and salt and pepper and combine.
  3. Top the toast with the bruschetta mixture and crumble over the fetta. Drizzle over a little more olive oil and serve.

*2204 actually serve this dish with bocconcini but I’m not a big fan so I’ve replaced it with fetta.

