The beauty of Baroque

If you haven’t been to Baroque in The Rocks, Sydney before then hurry up and get there damn it! The place is crazy good. CRAZY GOOD PEOPLE! I have been buying macarons from there for a while and have had a couple of afternoon soirees but never properly indulged. Now that I have I’m not sure things are ever going to be the same. Seriously, it is that good.

I’m getting ahead of myself though, let’s start at the beginning. It’s a sunny Sunday morning and a few friends and I are headed to hang out at this super cute restaurant complete with views of the Harbour Bridge and Opera House for an all day cooking class with Baroque Chef Nathan White. Lunch, matching wines, great conversation and loads of kitchen lessons. All for the bargain price of $150.

Yep, I’m serious, amazing experience delivered by a great bunch of exceptionally talented guys. Within half an hour of watching one of the (super cute!) pastry chefs make some delectable passionfruit, pistachio custard numbers and perfectly temper chocolate I was ready to hand in my resignation and sign up for an apprenticeship! A few war stories later from Nathan and Jason brought me back to reality but I gotta say, it was nice to be surrounded by people who are so incredibly committed and inspired by food.

If you’re interested in the cooking classes, there are a few options available including the ever popular macaron masterclass (which is a tad more expensive but looks like it is well worth it). The one we did was the Baroque Favourites and it was delicious – think french onion soup (like none I have ever tried before), duck liver parfait (I’m a convert!), ocean trout ceviche with avocado mousse (highlight of my day), pork extravaganza (completely incredible) and a bunch of desserts to finish.

Nathan was the perfect host and our late lunch quickly turned into a very loonnggg lunch! I will definitely be signing up for another class and intend on making Baroque a more regular lunch and dinner venue. I highly recommend all you other Sydneysiders do the same!

