Raspberry delight!

Today aside, the last few days in Sydney have been pure utter summer bliss. Hot, hot, hot. I got to admit, I kinda love it. Not so conducive to baking but hey I can live with that, particularly if it means that raspberry season is almost upon us. Red, a wee bit tart and completely delicious, they are one of my all time favourite berries.

I planted a raspberry vine awhile back. I had romantic visions of an otherwise boring fence being covered in lush green vines laden with fruit. I would take my adorable wicker basket and spend summer afternoons picking fruit and making jam, tarts, sorbet, jelly, vinaigrettes and whatever else sprung to mind!

Like most of my romantic notions, it came to nought. In fact I forget it was even there. Still, it is a tough little bugger and has lived on. Hopefully with some tender loving care (you’ll be pleased to know I’ve outsourced this responsibility – thanks Ma!), it might actually happen. I just won’t be able to take much of the credit. I will however be taking the fruit. Just saying.

Raspberry and pear yoghurt muffins (makes about 16 medium muffins)

  • 1 1/3 cup self raising flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 eggs, lightly whisked
  • 1 cup plain yoghurt
  • 1 1/2 cup raspberries (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 1/2 medium pears
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius. Grease two medium size muffin trays.
  2. Peel and dice the pear and toss in the lemon juice. Set aside.
  3. Combine the  flour and sugar in a bowl. Add the eggs and yoghurt and mix with a wooden spoon until combined. Add the pear and stir through.
  4. Spoon into the muffin trays (each hole should be about 2/3 full) and top with the raspberries.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden and cooked through. Allow to cool slightly before removing from the tin. Dust with icing sugar if you so wish.
