Beware, the wrath of the Kitchen Gods

So after first misplacing my kitchen inspiration followed closely by my appetite this last week, I awoke this morning feeling reinvigorated. Thank god, I was beginning to think I was seriously ill or something. Inspiration missing is one thing but appetite? That never happens to me. Ever.

After eating toast for dinner more times than I care to mention, I felt the need for some serious nutrition and perhaps a little something baked to celebrate my return to normal and prepare me for another busy work week. Enter the Kitchen Gods. I’m not sure if it was the fact I hadn’t shown them much love these last few weeks but they have it in for me, big time.

Roasted carrots for my spiced carrot soup (recipe to come). Turned out perfectly, soup tasted great, work lunches sorted. Cate, one point. Kitchen Gods, nil (mwah ha ha!!!).

On to the next dish. Moussaka (my favourite!). Prepared and ready for the oven. Monday night’s dinner sorted, nice one. Cate, two points. Kitchen Gods, nil.

Next, a little soul food and an opportunity to test a new recipe – banana and chocolate mini loaves. Off to a good start judging from the aroma wafting from the oven. What’s this? Not quite cooked? Hmmm, oven temperature seems a bit off, let’s crank this baby a little more and see if we can’t get the job done shall we? Ten minutes later and we still aren’t ready. Um, is the oven temperature actually decreasing? Oh say it ain’t so….

After watching the oven for the next 20 minutes like it was a god damn TV and seeing the temperature continue to decrease, I came to accept that it just wasn’t going to happen. Kitchen Gods got me, the bastards. On the upside, although the loaves weren’t quite cooked through in the centre, they turned out like puddings and tasted pretty damn fine.

Now I’m off to track down an oven that the Kitchen Gods haven’t killed yet so I can finish cooking my moussaka. I will not let them defeat me!

