Savouring the savoury

I’m sure it comes as no surprise that I tend to focus on baking and in particular all things sweet. I can’t seem to help myself, it’s what I love to do. That said, I have been thinking it is about time I balanced things a little better. Some valuable feedback from a few of my readers helped to confirm this was the direction I needed to head. Now I’m not saying there won’t be sweet stuff gracing these pages over the next few months but I am committed to making a more conscious decision about what I make and post. Starting with my version of Pumpkin and Fetta Pizza.

Last weekend I was lucky enough to head to the beautiful Blue Mountains for a friend’s birthday (happy birthday again Erin!). The Blue Mountains is a completely amazing place this time of year, bloody cold yet oh so inviting! Perfect weather for a few glasses of pinot noir, some birthday cheer and a lot of laughs. I am always impressed at the calibre of cafes and restaurants up that way. There may not be loads and many of them are pretty small but the food and wine is always incredible. So much so that if I didn’t have to pay bills I’d think seriously about moving!

One of the places we tried was Station Bar in Katoomba. It has a mellow but rather cool vibe and the pizzas are seriously yum! Interesting and traditional flavours all cleverly named after each of the train stations on the Blue Mountains line. Plus they have an impressive bar and decent wine selection.

As imitation is meant to be the most sincere form of flattery, I thought I would try and recreate one of the flavours I tried and loved – pumpkin and fetta. It was seriously good and although I’m not sure mine is quite as impressive, it has plenty of potential. If you’re not  fetta fan, you could easily replace it with gorgonzola for a completely different flavour combination. Next time around I am so being more generous with my toppings and aiming for a thinner base. That aside, it made for a rather delicious lunch!

Pumpkin, caramelised onion and fetta pizza                               (makes 6 small  pizzas or 10-12 mini pizzas)

  • About 200gm pumpkin, thinly sliced
  • 100gm fetta, crumbled
  • 2 medium onions, thinly sliced
  • olive oil
  • About 50gm shaved parmesan
  • rocket, to serve
  • cracked pepper

Dough

  • 300gm strong flour
  • 200ml, warm water
  • 1tsp honey
  • 7gm dry yeast
  • 1tbsp milk
  • 1tbsp olive oil
  1. Preheat the oven to 220 degrees celsius.
  2. To make the dough, add the yeast and honey to the warm water, mix and set aside for about 10 minutes (it should start to bubble).
  3. In a separate bowl, add the flour, milk and olive oil. Mix in the yeast mixture. Using the dough hook on an electric mixture, mix for a couple of minutes on a slow setting. Increase the speed to high until the dough come away from the side of the bowl and is soft and silky.
  4. Add the dough to a clean, well oiled bowl and set aside in a warm spot for about 20 minutes or until it has doubled in size.
  5. In the meantime, add the onions and olive oil to a medium pan and cook for about 15-20 minutes until soft and caramelised. Set aside to cool slightly.
  6. Once the dough has doubled in size, divide it into the number of pizzas you’d like to make and roll into circles (if you like your bases thinner, roll it out to about 3mm high. If you prefer them thicker, roll out to about 5mm).
  7. Divide the parmesan, caramelised onion, thinly sliced pumpkin and fetta between the pizzas. Set the pizzas aside again in a warm spot to double in size.
  8. Top with cracked pepper and a good drizzle of olive oil and cook for about 15 minutes. Top with rocket to serve.
