My Mum, the Superhero

My Mum is one of those unassuming but incredibly smart, perceptive individuals. Those qualities make her an excellent life teacher and in the lead up to Mother’s Day, I thought I would share some of her lessons that have stuck with me:

  1. Learn to trust your instincts and you can’t go wrong
  2. You don’t have to be the smartest or the loudest person in the room to get what you want
  3. That mouth of yours will get you into trouble one day if you don’t learn when to shut it!
  4. Don’t underestimate the value of common sense… it’s not actually that common
  5. Being well liked and being well-respected are not the same things and sometimes you can’t have both
  6. Family is everything.

This year my Mum is off globe-trotting and as much as I would love to be with her on Mother’s Day I think she has earned a few months off doing as she pleases, wherever and whenever she pleases! The older I get the more I appreciate just how incredible she is. All Mum’s are right?!

Hopefully between my Dad and one of my brothers, they will spoil her enough for the rest of us… Previous experience would indicate otherwise but hey, there is a first time for everything!

Despite the distance between us, I still wanted to bake something in her honour. Admittedly this recipe also satisfies my craving for crumble. Needless to say I got rather excited when I spotted the early rhubarb and granny smith apples at the Eveleigh Markets the other week!

Rather than go for a straight crumble, I decided to have a play and turn it more into a crumble cake. It only really adds one additional element to the traditional crumble but makes it a more impressive dessert for a Mother’s Day lunch.

Apple, Rhubarb and Blueberry Crumble Cake (Serves 8-10)

Base

  • 125gm butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut

Filling

  • 3 medium green apples, peeled and diced
  • 1 bunch rhubarb, cut into 2cm chunks
  • 1 punnet of blueberries
  • 2 tsp each of ground ginger and cinnamon

Topping

  • 125gm butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup almond meal
  • 3/4 cup almond flakes
  • 1/2 cup each of brown sugar and demerara sugar
  • 3/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius. Line a 20cm spring form tin or individual mini tins with baking paper.
  2. Add all the ingredients for the base together and mix until well combined. Press into the tin and bake for about 15 minutes until lightly browned.
  3. Bake the rhubarb for about 10 minutes until soft. Add the cubed apple, ginger and cinnamon and stir to combine. Top the base with the mixed fruit.
  4. Mix all the topping ingredients together and cover the fruit, patting it down firmly. Bake for about 35 minutes or until golden.
  5. Allow to cool before serving with custard or whipped cream.

Happy Mother’s Day Mum!

