Just peachy

Have I ever mentioned how much I love stone fruit? Apricots, plums, cherries, nectarines but never the humble peach. I guess it was the skin that put me off as a child but to be honest, I don’t think I’d ever had one worth getting excited over. That was until last week when I had a peach epiphany!

I bought three peaches the size of cricket balls solely for the purpose of baking yet quickly discovered that these were peaches like no others. In short they were delicious – firm to the touch yet juicy with bright yellow flesh and an intense favour and aroma.

Thankfully I only sampled the peaches (skin-free) once I had used what I needed for baking otherwise I’m not sure my cakes would have been anything more than the white chocolate variety!

I’m not sure how much longer peaches will be in season for, what with the wet weather and change of seasons but I intend to make the most of them until they disappear – for instance, the Bellini I made to accompany my baking was delicious!

Peach and White Chocolate Cakes (makes 12)

  • 250gm butter, diced
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups plain flour, sifted
  • 2 tsp baking powder, sifted
  • 200gm melted white chocolate
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 peeled peaches – 1 diced, 1 finely sliced
  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and grease a 12 hole cake tray (these are great if you can find one) or alternatively a large 12 hole muffin tin (noting you may have some leftover mixture).
  2. Cream the butter and sugar for at least 5-7 minutes or until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well between each addition.
  4. On a slow speed, add the flour, baking powder, milk and melted white chocolate, alternating between the wet and dry ingredients. Stir through the diced peaches.
  5. Spoon into the cake tins and top with the sliced peaches.
  6. Bake for about 25-35 minutes, depending on the tins you are using.
  7. Leave to cool for 10 minutes before turning out onto a tray.
  8. Dust with icing sugar and store in an air tight container for up to 3 days.

