A lady who lunches!

I could think of nothing nicer than being a lady of leisure, one who gets to lunch regularly at exclusive waterside spots with fabulous friends. Realistically I think perhaps I would get bored after a while… At least that’s what I tell myself on Monday mornings when I’m dragging myself out of bed to go to work!

Lunch is one of those meals that can turn into a functional and boring affair unless you take the time to make it otherwise. Although it might be a tad difficult during the week, there is no excuse for boring sandwiches on the weekend, even when you’re not headed out to one of those exclusive waterside spots with your nearest and dearest.

While I might not always be good at taking my own advice (I’ve eaten enough Vegemite SAOs, tubs of yoghurt and bowls of cereal for lunch in my lifetime), this weekend I was in the mood for a slightly more sophisticated home catered affair.

Blink and you’ll miss them but figs are one of my favourite fruits to over-indulge in and lucky for me, they are still in season. They are so unassuming from the outside but cut those babies open and it’s the stuff culinary dreams are made of – completely delicious! I’m sure figs go well in sweet dishes but I prefer to eat them on their lonesome or with a nice bit of cheese. Add a few more ingredients and you’ve got yourself a simple, sophisticated lunch for one, two or even ten!

The perfect “fruit” salad (serves 2)

  • 6 figs, halved
  • 1/2 crispy pear, thinly sliced
  • 4 slices prosciutto, torn
  • 1 cup seedless grapes (green or red)
  • 100-150gms rocket leaves
  • 100gm mild blue cheese
  • 2 tbsp good quality olive oil
  • Cracked pepper, to finish
  1. Grill the fig halves cut side down over high heat for 3-5 minutes or until slightly caramelised.
  2. Place the rocket, grapes, pear slices, olive oil and prosciutto in a bowl and stir to combine.
  3. Divide the salad between two plates and add the grilled figs.
  4. Crumble the blue cheese over the salad and finish with a splash of olive oil and some freshly cracked pepper.

Happy lunching and don’t forget the wine!

