Nuts about coconut

It is fairly safe to say that I went a bit loco over the fresh coconut whilst holidaying. So much so I was practically devastated if it didn’t make an appearance on the breakfast buffet each morning. Rather pathetic now that I think about it but you know, holiday woes are meant to be that trivial right?!

Given how much of the stuff I ate, I thought I wouldn’t want to touch it once I got back but it’s been quite the opposite. I’ve had cravings like you wouldn’t believe. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I would give almost anything to be back in Fiji. Somehow, somewhere along the line coconut has turned into comfort food!

Although I’ve tried the real stuff before (who could forget the time my Mum almost cut her hand off trying to crack open one rather stubborn coconut!), it wasn’t anything like what we got in Fiji. Being so close to the source made it that much easier to get a better quality product – everywhere you looked there were people with street stalls selling the stuff! It was succulent, yet not too sweet and in short, completely delicious.

Rather than fight my craving, this weekend I decided to give in. With so much sunshine around, it was also the perfect weather for ice cream so what better idea than to combine the two.

For all you food purists, I have cheated as there isn’t any fresh coconut here but honestly, I don’t think it matters. I have included toasted coconut for texture but I understand some people aren’t fans (yes K2, I’m thinking of you!), so feel free to leave it out if you’d prefer.

Coconut ice cream (makes about 1.5L)
  • 800mls coconut cream
  • 1/2 cup cream
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  1. On a low to medium heat, add the coconut cream, cream and sugar and stir until the sugar has dissolved.
  2. Add the beaten eggs and cook for about 8-10 minutes (do not let it boil), stirring constantly. The mixture should thicken slightly. Remove the mixture from the heat.
  3. Toast the shredded coconut in the oven for about 5-10 minutes, careful not to let it burn and set aside.
  4. If you are using an ice cream maker, allow the mixture to cool completely, stir through the toasted coconut and then churn as per the manufacturer’s instructions. If you are mixing by hand, freeze the mixture for 2-3 hours before removing from the freezer and beating until smooth (you can add the shredded coconut at this point). Return to the freezer for another 2 hours before repeating the process another 2-3 times to break up any ice particles.

