Singin’ the blues

Does anyone else get the Sunday night blues? For me Sunday evenings are a complete bitch. The idea that the weekend is over is just too much for my delicate constitution to cope with.

Last Sunday was no exception, especially since it was also my last night of holidays. I almost felt like a condemned woman preparing to walk the plank back into the office! Although I’m fine now and have my brain back in work mode (hmm, slight overstatement!), I do miss having entire days to do as much or as little as I please. Thank god my trip to Fiji is only a week away!

For me a successful and creative kitchen is all about time and energy. I like to have space (both mental and bench!) and as much time as I like to play around with different ingredients to see what works and what doesn’t.

With this in mind, Sunday night dinners are definitely not conducive to experimenting. Essentially what I’m looking for is the quickest and tastiest way in and out of the kitchen!

Growing up, toast was always a popular Sunday night option in my house and this is a slightly more sophisticated version of a household stable. I wouldn’t call it a meal as such but it does the job.

You could easily change the flavour combinations to whatever you liked (in fact garlic ricotta with a standard bruschetta topping is delicious) but if you stick to this one, be sure to taste test along the way. The amount of chives, chilli, pepper and lemon are all to my liking but you may wish to add more or less depending on your palate. Simple Sunday night dinners at their best!

The Sunday Blues Bruschetta

  • Crusty bread, toasted
  • 150-200gm firm ricotta
  • 2-3 tbsp cream (optional)
  • Half a spanish onion, finely diced
  • Half bunch of chives
  • 1 red chilli (deseeded if preferred)
  • Good few squeezes of lemon juice
  • Zest of half a lemon
  • Lots of freshly cracked black pepper
  • Good sprinkle of sea salt
  • 6-8 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 6-8 kalamata olives, sliced
  • Small handful of flat leaf parsley, finely chopped
  • Olive oil to serve
  1. Cut the bread into thick slices and toast – you can use a conventional toaster as I have done here but my preference is to toast them in a griddle pan so you get the char-grilled effect and flavour.
  2. Combine all the ricotta, cream (if using), onion, chives, chilli, lemon juice, zest, salt and pepper in a bowl and mix until smooth.
  3. Generously spread onto the warm toast and top with the tomatoes, olives and parsley. Drizzle with olive oil and serve.

Note – Any left over spread will keep in the fridge for 3-5 days.

