Cold Comfort

I must apologise, it has been ages since my last post and I am feeling a wee bit guilty… Between hunting for a new house, celebrating people’s birthdays and work I haven’t had much time to write. Fear not though, I have still been cooking and assure you I am back on the blogging wagon!

A few weeks ago I was feeling a little under the weather and searching for a cure to what ailed me. Ok I’ll admit it was after a pretty big Saturday night out on the town celebrating one of my best friend’s 30th birthdays!

I don’t know what other people’s preferred hangover cures are but I’ve got a few up my sleeve for such occasions. I don’t need them nearly as much as I used to but back in the day my favourites were lemonade, orange juice and ice-cream – certainly not all at once and in no particular order!

These days I prefer to take preventative action however on this occasion I was somewhere between hungover, tired and in desperate need of a cold, sugary and refreshing pick-me-up.

Luckily for me, the day before I’d been trying to perfect sorbet flavours. I’m still not convinced I got the texture right but the flavour of this one really hits the spot and is perfect for the day after a big night out. Who says cold comfort can’t be a good thing?

Vodka, lemon and lime sorbet (serves 4-6)

  •  Juice of 4 limes & 4 lemons (180ml juice)
  • Zest of 2 limes & 2 lemons
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 100ml water
  • 100ml vodka (or white spirit of your choice)
  • About 12 mint leaves, finely shredded
  1. In a saucepan, dissolve the sugar in the water. Once dissolved, add the vodka, juice and zest and mint. Add additional water to taste if it is too tart or sweet. Refrigerate until cold.
  2. Using an ice-cream maker, churn the sorbet according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
  3. Freeze for 3-4 hours until firm but still soft enough to scoop.

If you don’t have an ice-cream maker, I’d suggest turning it into a granita. After step one, just place it in the freezer and every few hours take it out and rake it with a fork until it is completely frozen.

Too easy!

