The Cookie Monster

I’m not entirely sure why but cookies are so much more fun to make and eat than plain old biscuits. Plus they are excellent for dunking in milk!

A very good friend of mine makes the best choc chip cookies I have ever tasted in my entire life. They are nothing short of amazing. Enormous, plump golden biscuits with loads of chocolate! My biggest regret is I never asked her for the recipe but I’m still hoping one day she will share it with me… please Kate, please?!

Rather than try and reinvent a classic, on this occasion I thought I would have a go at a slightly different combination. Now I know white chocolate and raspberry is hardly anything new but I haven’t seen many cookie recipes that use it.

My first attempt was a while back and it wasn’t exactly a success. I used a combination of plain flour and almond meal and melted the white chocolate before I added it. The result was delicious flavoured flat, soft biscuits. Cookie fail!

I suspect the melted chocolate was the culprit so this time around I decided to stick to the basics. I still ended up with a bit of a stickier mess than I would have liked (due to the raspberries) but I persevered and the end result was much better. The cookies are pretty sweet so a glass of milk is a must!

Raspberry and white chocolate cookies

(makes about 24)

  • 110gm butter, softened
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cup plain flour, sifted
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 180gm white chocolate, cut into little chunks
  • 100gm raspberries, fresh or frozen
  1.  Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and line two biscuit trays with baking paper.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the egg and mix through thoroughly.
  3. Add the plain flour and baking powder and fold through until just combined. The dough may be a bit dry but that’s ok, once you mix through the raspberries, it will even itself out.
  4. Add the white chocolate and raspberries and mix through.
  5. Roll dessert spoon size balls of the mixture and place on the tray, leaving some room between them for the cookies to spread.
  6. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden. Leave to cool for about 10 minutes.
