‘Twas the night before Christmas

Chocolate Mousse

Well we made it. I don’t know about you guys but I’ve been hanging out for this day for what feels like forever!

As much as I’ve been looking forward to it though, it can be a hard time of year for many. Personally, I find it difficult not to think about this time last year and the fact we as a family were spending Christmas with one of our most treasured members, my beautiful Aunty, for the last time. I still miss her terribly and probably always will but I guess that’s what Christmas is all about – reflecting on what we have and being grateful for those who have changed our worlds, even if they aren’t with us anymore.

Chocolate Mousse

My Aunty was a huge fan of Christmas and could throw a great party. She taught me to be a calm, considered cook and whilst I’m not sure I’ll ever master her wisdom or gentle nature, I will always remember and appreciate the time we shared together. Whether it be in the kitchen cooking or enjoying a glass of bubbly in the backyard she was fabulous company, even if she never got any of our names right! 

In memory of her, I’m posting a recipe she taught me. It’s ridiculously simple but utterly luscious and the perfect Christmas Eve dessert. While I’m pretty sure it was originally a “celebrity” chef’s recipe, it will always be Aunty Ree’s chocolate mousse to me!

Merry Christmas, hope you all have a lovely holiday xxx

Chocolate Mousse

Aunty Ree’s Cheats Chocolate Mousse (serves about 10)

  • 500gm good quality chocolate – I used 200gm standard dark, 100gm 70% dark and 200gm milk
  • 1 litre custard
  • 750ml cream, whipped
  • 500gm mixed berries
  • Mint, extra chocolate, cherries and toasted almond slivers to garnish
  1. Melt chocolate and custard in a metal bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Once completely smooth, allow to chill for about 30 minutes.
  2. Fold in just under half of the whipped cream until just combined and pour into the bowl you wish to serve it in. Chill for at least 3-4 hours.
  3. Layer the berries onto of the mousse and then top with the remaining whipped cream.
  4. Decorate with the cherries, some grated chocolate, toasted almond slivers and mint leaves. Chill until ready to serve.