If wishes were fishes

Ocean Trout Ceviche

Growing up, I never ate much fish. My Mum is a country girl at heart and in many ways, a country cook. Although she can cook fish, I’m guessing it has never felt entirely natural for her. My Dad on the other hand has always lived on the coast, growing up in what was essentially a fishing village. But he doesn’t can’t cook. As much as I love him, the man cannot be trusted with much more than a BBQ. In fact, the meals he served up to us as kids are probably what inspired me to learn to cook properly. No one should have to eat cabbage boiled to within an inch of its life.

Ocean Trout Ceviche

A lot of what I know about food I’ve learnt from my Mum. I often used to sit at the kitchen bench and watch her prepare dinner or cook a cake and she’d explain what she was doing. As a result, there has never been much that’s scared me when it comes to food. Except fish. It is the one thing I feel like I missed out on. And I’m not even talking about learning to scale or fillet a fish!

Up until about a year ago, I’d often avoid having to cook fish full stop. But the thing is, I love it! It is one of my favourite foods and rather than be afraid any longer, I’ve decided to be brave. Plus, it turns out the kid in me loves trips to the Sydney Fish Markets to see the prehistoric-looking giant crabs in the tanks!

This recipe is inspired by a combination of great dishes from some fab Sydney restaurants, namely Ananas and Baroque. It’s easy, healthy and a perfect way to enjoy our amazing Spring weather.

Ocean Trout Ceviche

Ocean Trout Ceviche with avocado mousse (serves 4)

  • 400 gm ocean trout, cut into small cubes
  • Zest and juice of 1 orange and 1 lime
  • ½ red onion, finely diced
  • 2 small radishes, finely sliced
  • ½ bunch chives, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp mint, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp quality olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 tbsp sour cream or greek yoghurt
  • 1 crusty loaf, sliced and toasted
  1. Combine the citrus juice, red onion, radishes, chives, mint, olive oil, salt and pepper and honey and mix well. Add the ocean trout, mix through and set aside until ready to serve.
  2. To make the avocado mousse, place the avocado and sour cream in a food processor and blend until smooth. Season with salt and pepper. If you’re not serving immediately, add a teaspoon of lemon juice to the mousse to stop it discolouring.
  3. Generously spread the mousse on the toast slices and top with the ocean trout.
