Playing catch up…

Arch de Triumph

It’s fair to say I’ve neglected my blog terribly of late. Aside from a random post from Paris what seems like forever ago (wait… it actually was), I’ve done nothing in the way of updating you on my adventures. Firstly, Europe was insane. In a good way. Five weeks of friends, family and amazing sights and experiences. Trip of a lifetime and all that, can’t wait to go back.

Beautiful Paris...

The food was fantastic and the wine, incredible. And don’t get me started on the cheese, it was out of this world good and made me realise just how much I still haven’t tasted. Oh, and I found a love of cabbage! From lightly steamed to shredded in tangy German coleslaw, you name it, I love it. Who could have guessed?! Not even my mother will understand how this has come about, I certainly don’t.

Lovely Oxordshire (and my favourite little guys)

I was definitely missing a few home comforts by the time I got back though. My first meal on return (noting it was midnight) was… Vegemite toast. For those who know me, that will come as no surprise. It’s an acquired taste to be sure and one which I most certainly have. Good coffee was also something I missed. To the point where I practically gave it up. Some coffees were so bad they were just offensive. Oh and salad. Lots, and lots of vegetables. I’d forgotten that when you eat out allll the time, you tend to get loads of meat and not nearly enough salad or veggies. Oh, how I craved veggies. By the time we hit Prague, they were all I wanted, all the time.

Waddesdon Manor, Oxfordshire

Despite being desperate to get back into the kitchen on my return, I’ve actually found myself in a bit of a rut. I’ve got loads of wintery inspiration in mind but Sydney’s Indian Autumn isn’t quite lending itself to the likes of french onion soup, boeuf bourguignon, roast pork or sheppards pie… Winter will be here soon enough I suppose, best enjoy the sunshine while it lasts.

Tower Bridge, London

One thing I had meant to do before I went away was to thank the lovely Lauren from Cinnamon & Cilantro for nominating me for a Liebster Award. It’s always such a pleasure to be nominated by other bloggers and I especially love C&C as it’s terribly witty, honest and full of great recipes, I highly recommend you check it out.

So here are the rules….

1. You must thank the person who nominated you (thanks again Lauren!)
2. Answer the 11 questions posed by your nominator (see below…very bottom)
3. Pass on the award to 11 new recipients
4. Pose 11 new questions to your bloggers

My top 11 picks to pass the Liebster Award on to are…(drum roll please!)…

Here’s my questions to you all:

  1. How long have you been blogging for?
  2. What’s with your blog’s name? How did you come up with it?
  3. Do you ever suffer from “blogger’s block”? If so, any hot tips on how to get through it?!
  4. Where was the last place you travelled?
  5. What’s next on your travel itinerary?
  6. Who would attend your ultimate dinner party? Alive, dead, famous or not…
  7. What or who inspires you most in life?
  8. What does your perfect day look like?
  9. Savoury or sweet fan?
  10. Any celebrity crushes we should know about?
  11. If you could, what advice would you give to a 15 year old you?

And finally, here are my answers to Lauren’s questions…

1. What made you start blogging?

I’ve loved to cook for ages but really wasn’t pushing myself. I figured that starting a blog based on pretty much all my own recipes was a good way of doing that. Plus I really enjoy writing and photography so it seemed like the perfect combination.

2. What’s the best and worst thing you have ever made?

Gosh, I don’t know! I suspect I’ve probably blocked out some of the worst… and there have been a few! I vaguely remember making this weird stir fry when I lived in my first share house which was edible (just) but looked… disgusting. As for the best, I’m not sure I’m the right person to judge but I do make a mean moussaka and mushroom risotto. Not together…obviously!

3. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

Bhutan. They have a national happiness index, how cool is that?! Plus they’re mostly Buddhists which is a religion I find particularly intriguing. On and Bhutan is home to the beautiful snow leopard.

4. What’s the strangest gift you have ever received?

Um… best not to mention it just in case the person who gave it to me happens to read this!

5. What’s your idea of a perfect date?

Something relaxed yet thoughtful. I’m not one for grand gestures or expense, I prefer it when someone goes of their way to do something nice just for you and just because.

6. If you could cook dinner for anyone in the world, who would it be and what would you make?

Dead or alive? If we can go with dead, I’d have to say my Nana. She died when I was little so I never got a chance to cook for her. In terms of what… a fancy French banquet complete with loads of dessert. Joan was a dessert queen!

7. What was your favourite movie growing up?

I preferred books as a kid. Yes, I was a nerd and yes, I still am.

8. If you could have any super power, what would it be and why?

The ability to make time stand still. No matter how hard I try, I just can’t find enough time in my day to get everything done that I want! Is that really selfish?

9. What’s your favorite restaurant to go to? What do you get there?

Despite my inability to use chop sticks (yes you read that correctly, I really am that uncoordinated) it would have to be Toko, Surry Hills. I love the kingfish sashimi and the seared scallops. Yum.

10. If you had to give up having a phone or computer, which would it be and why?

Probably my computer. My phone’s pretty smart and can do most of what my computer can do. I hope.

11. What was the best thing that happened to you last year?

I guess I discovered that sometimes unexpected or even unwanted change can be really positive. There was a lot of stuff going on which was out of my control and not entirely welcome but through it, I met someone who has quickly become one of my best friends and without him, I would have really struggled to survive the last few months.

Next post, recipes. Promise!

