An Australian in Paris

20130324-220107.jpg

So it’s been a month since my last post… my bad. Between work, family and holiday prep, it has been insane. Operation Relaxation has well and truly commenced now though, phew! A week into my European holiday and life is starting to look a hell of a lot brighter.

20130324-221533.jpg
Last week was Ireland (beyond amazing, it even snowed just for me!) and now I’m hanging out in Paris and having a blast. How has it taken me so long to make it to this incredible city? It’s truly criminal. I mean, this place is just fabulous, a history buff and food lover’s dream come true. And don’t get me started on the wine…

20130324-220439.jpg

Despite having just eaten the worst pizza of my life (don’t start, it’s been a long day, wee bit tired from last night’s antics and it’s like 3 degrees out) I’ve had some great meals here already – French onion soup, boeuf bourguignon, steak and frites, delicious organic granola, pain au chocolat and although its not quite a meal, the best damn chocolat chaud I’ve had in ages!

20130324-220212.jpg
I’m finding this holiday so inspiring from a food perspective. I already have a list as long as my arm of things I want to make when I finally get back into the kitchen and I still have four stops to go! I’m not sure what tomorrow’s food adventure will be but with any luck it will involve picking up some vintage French cutlery and a cookbook or two, bliss!

ps. Apologies for the spelling mistakes etc, blogging from an iPhone is an art form I am yet to master!